Problem :Recently someone tagged a few Photos in FaceBook and these were displayed under my Photo Albums with the message that these were my photos, but there were actually not mine and i could not find any reason why they have done this. I contacted Facebook support team but they could not reply me on this behalf. What could be the possible solution to stop these Photo Tagging feature?
Solution : Facebook lists all your Photos which you have uploaded or tagged under a separate section called ‘Photos’ at – http://www.facebook.com/amitbhawani?v=photos [Change username to your fancy url]. Whenever you upload your Photos you will be asked to select the category followed by the uploading process, finally all of which would be displayed under the Photos section and also on your friends News Feed where they would see this as a new update. The tagging feature is offered to the users in order to Tag the faces or items on Photographs where you have multiple faces or if you would like to give important to some specific section. You can easily add a tag and this can be linked to any of your friends profiles.
This feature is quite useful and also used by many, but recently it has been Abused by many members where in they just upload some random useless pictures to their profile and start tagging everyone in their network to just create a small alert their in their network and get everyone to discuss on this topic. Once you are tagged in a Photo, facebook would be emailing you about the same and would also display the same alert on your Wall as displayed below.
This Photo Tagging spam is increasing everyday with people uploading a simple photo like a Gift Box and then tagging many people in it and giving it a note that this is a Gift to all, which is just going to waste your time along with displaying the same Photo in your Photo Albums which is irrelevant. Hence its better to remove these tagged photos from your account and have a neat and organized album. To get started first click on the Photos tab under your Profile, and then under the Tagged Image you will find the Photo where if you mouse over you will find your name in the Photo.
If the Photos are uploaded by you then you can delete them anytime but these tagged photos are uploaded by someone else hence its not possible to delete them but you can untag these. Below these Photos you will find a list of all the User-names in rows, under which you need to find your User Name which will be shown as [Amit Bhawani (photos | remove tag)]
Click on the ‘Remove Tag’ link, which will remove your profile link from that specific photo and the same would also be removed from your Photos Gallery. Now you don’t have to worry about the problem of people tagging you on facebook.